Scientific Advisory Council

The University of Arizona Arthritis Center (UAAC) Scientific Advisory Council, was established by Eric P. Gall, MD, in 2010 with the goal of re-establishing interdisciplinary cooperative activities that are an important part of the UAAC. The UAAC’s original success as a National Institutes of Health-funded multipurpose Center was propelled by the interdisciplinary connections, cooperative activities and relationships between the UAAC, academic leaders at the Arizona Health Sciences Center and community leaders.

The overall goal of the UAAC is to provide interdisciplinary research, educational activities and community service in the areas of arthritis, rheumatic disease, musculoskeletal medicine and autoimmune disease. The purpose of the Scientific Advisory Council is to understand the ongoing issues in the areas outlined above at the University of Arizona and its affiliate institutions and in the communities of Arizona.

Current Members:

  • Manfred Albrecht, MD
  • David Armstrong, DPM, MD, PhD
  • Edward K. Berghausen, MD
  • Michael Dohm, MD
  • John Ehiri, MD
  • Mindy Fain, MD
  • Janet Funk, PhD
  • Eric P. Gall, MD 
  • Scott Going, PhD
  • Rafael Grau, MD
  • Randy Horwitz, MD, PhD
  • Paul Howard, MD
  • C. Kent Kwoh, MD - Chair
  • Richard Lane, MD
  • L. Daniel Latt, MD, PhD
  • Victoria Maizes, MD
  • Michael Maricic, MD
  • Margaret Miller, MD
  • Janko Nikolich-Zugich, MD, PhD
  • John Ruth, MD
  • David Wayne Smith, Ed.D
  • Esther Sternberg, MD
  • J. Stephen Strong, MD
  • John Szivek, PhD
  • Mihra Taljonovic, MD
  • Ronald Watson, MD
  • Karen Weihs, MD

For more information on the UAAC Scientific Advisory Council, call (520) 626-3618.