Endowed Lectures/Visiting Professors

Eva M. Holtby Endowed Lectureship

The Eva M. Holtby Endowed Lecture was created in honor of the founder of the Friends of the University of Arizona Arthritis Center, Eva M. Holtby.  Mrs. Holtby's outreach to the Tucson community led to a wide circle of admiring friends drawn to her strong leadership skills and her caring for those in need.  It was her steadfast leadership and vision that gave birth to the concept that through education, public awareness and community involvement, organizations such as the Friends of the UAAC could build community support and make significant contributions to improving the lives of those affected by arthritis.  This mission has become the cornerstone for the diversified efforts of the members of the Friends for the past 20 years.  

Holtby Professors:

2020: Donata Vercelli, MD, the University of Arizona 
2019: Kenneth S. Ramos, MD, PhD, PharmB, the University of Arizona
2018: Said A. Ibrahim, MD, PhD, Cornell University
2017: Clifford J. Rosen, MD, Tufts University
2016: Ted R. Mikuls, MD, University of Nebraska
2015: Edward H. Yelin, PhD, UC San Francisco
2014: Amye Leong, MBA, The Global Alliance for Musculoskeletal Health
2013: Esther M. Sternberg, MD, the University of Arizona
2012: Peter A. Simkin, MD, University of Washington
2011: David A. Fox, MD, University of Michigan
2010: James S. Louie, MD, UCLA
2009: Don Goldenberg, MD, Tufts University
2008: Robert D. Inman, MD, Toronto Western Hospital
2007: John Revelle, MD, University of Texas
2006: Eric P. Gall, MD, Chicago Medical School, Rosalind Franklin
2005: Rowland Moskowitz, MD, Case Western University
2004: Ilona Szer, MD, Children’s Hospital of San Diego

Southwestern Clinic and Research Institute (SCARI) Endowed Lectureship

Established in 2015, the SCARI Endowed Lectureship recognizes over 80 years of research collaboration between the Southwestern Clinic and Research Institute and the University of Arizona Arthritis Center.  

Motivated by a deep concern for patients with progessive, crippling arthritis, Drs. W. Paul Holbrook and Donald F. Hill conceived of a research institute that would encompass both clinical studies and basic research to better understand the etiology underlying Rheumatoid Arthritis.  Drs. Donald Hill and Paul Holbrook started an arthritis clinic in the 1930s in Tucson, which was a major treatment center because the climate brings symptom relief. At the time, little was known about the disease. The doctors also created a research organization in an effort to improve treatment. They secured funding from well-known philanthropists such as J.D. Rockefeller and sources including the U.S. Public Health Service.  

The clinic gained prominence for patient treatment as well. In 1951, famous French painter Raoul Dufy presented Hill and Holbrook with “Hoedown” as a token of gratitude for their care during his vacation to Tucson. A replica of this work hangs on the walls of the University of Arizona Arthritis Center. 

The excellence in research and patient care established by SCARI, its physicians and researchers continues today.

SCARI Visiting Professors:

2020: Christopher Hernandez, PhD, Cornell University 
2018: Peter Nigrovic, MD, Harvard University
2017: V. Michael Holers, MD, University of Colorado
2016: James S. Louie, MD, UCLA

Eric P. Gall, MD Endowed Lectureship

Established in 2015, the Eric P. Gall, MD, Endowed Lectureship recognizes the noteworthy and innovative teaching techniques of UA Arthritis Center co-founder Eric P. Gall, MD.  Dr. Gall is the founder of the University of Arizona's Rheumatology Training Program and has served on the UA Curriculum Committee in a variety of roles. He was also Chairman of the UA Comprehensive Curriculum Analysis and Planning Project whose work resulted in the rollout of a new medical school curriculum in the mid-1990's. He has created an annual program titled ‘Introduction to Clinical Medicine Physical Exam Experience in Rheumatic Disease which allows medical students, residents and fellows to interact with current patients diagnosed with applicable diseases which he continues to organize and direct.  Dr. Gall served on a number of MS and PhD thesis defense committees, all with successful outcomes. During his career, Dr. Gall has mentored more than 75 residents and fellows.

Gall Visiting Professors:

2020: Terry Wolpaw, MD, MPHE, Penn State University
2018: Sterling West, MD, University of Denver
2017: George 'Geordie' Lawry, MD, UC Irvine 
2016: Marian Hannan, PhD, Harvard University
2015: Kate Lorig, PhD, Stanford University