Scientific Advisory Board

The University of Arizona Arthritis Center (UAAC) Scientific Advisory Board, was established by the late Eric P. Gall, MD, in 2010 with the goal of re-establishing interdisciplinary cooperative activities that are an important part of the UAAC. The UAAC’s original success as a National Institutes of Health-funded multipurpose Center was propelled by the interdisciplinary connections, cooperative activities and relationships between the UAAC, academic leaders at the Arizona Health Sciences Center and community leaders.

The overall goal of the UAAC is to provide interdisciplinary research, educational activities and community service in the areas of arthritis, rheumatic disease, musculoskeletal medicine and autoimmune disease. The purpose of the Scientific Advisory Council is to understand the ongoing issues in the areas outlined above at the University of Arizona and its affiliate institutions and in the communities of Arizona.

University of Arizona Arthritis Center Scientific Advisory Board Members:

Asmaa Abu-Maziad, MD
Edward Bedrick, PhD
Zhao Chen, PhD
Janet Funk, MD
Henk Granzier, PhD
Scott Going, PhD
Mohab Ibrahim, MD, PhD
C. Kent Kwoh, MD (chair)
L. Daniel Latt, MD, PhD
Zong-Ming Li, PhD
David Margolis, MD, PhD
Janko Nikolich, MD, PhD
Johnny Ray Runyon, PhD
Lauren Elisa Schultz, PhD
Marvin Slepian, MD
Esther Sternberg, MD
Joann Sweasy, PhD
John Szivek, PhD