Endowed Chairs

Endowed Chairs

Charles A. L. and Suzanne M. Stephens Endowed Chair in Rheumatology (Established 2001)

Named for late Tucson rheumatologist Charles A. L. Stephens and his wife Suzanne, the Stephens Chair is held by the Director of the University of Arizona Arthritis Center and is dedicated to research in rheumatology.  A Cornell University graduate (both undergraduate and medical school), Dr. Stephens was a practicing rheumatologist in Tucson for 42 years.  He was pivotal in the development of the Southwestern Clinic and Research Institute (SCARI) and served as its president before venturing into private practice.  With a special research interest in rheumatoid arthritis, Dr. Stephens was named as a Laureate Award winner by the American College of Physicians (ACP).  This is ACP's highest honor.  

Stephens' Chairs
C. Kent Kwoh, MD, 2013 - present                 
Salvatore Albani, MD, PhD, 2008 – 2010
David Yocum, MD, 2001 – 2005

Ethel McChesney Bilby Endowed Chair in Osteoporosis (Established 1997)

Bilby Chairs
Jeffrey R. Lisse, MD, 2001 – 2016
David Yocum, MD, 2000-01
Michael Maricic, MD, 1998 – 2000 

William and Sylvia Rubin Endowed Chair in Orthopaedic Research (Established 2003)

Rubin Chairs
Zong-Ming Li, PhD, 2019 - present
John Szivek, PhD, 2003 - 2019