UAAC Director C. Kent Kwoh, MD Named to American College of Rheumatology Division Directors Special Committee

Jul 30, 2018

University of Arizona Arthritis Center Director C. Kent Kwoh, MD, has been named to the prestigious Division Directors Special Committee for the American College of Rheumatology (ACR).  Dr. Kwoh's three-year term will commence in October.  

The ACR Division Directors Special Committee is charged advancing academic rheumatology, and thereby rheumatology as a whole, through support of clinical care, research, education and advocacy.  The American College of Rheumatology is the world’s leading professional organization of rheumatologists and rheumatology health professionals. 

In addition to serving as Director of the University of Arizona Arthritis Center, Dr. Kwoh is a Professor of Medicine and Medical Imaging in the University of Arizona College of Medicine, Chief of the Division of Rheumatology and holds the Charles A.L. and Suzanne M. Stephens Endowed Chair in Rheumatology. He was named to these positions in July, 2013.

Dr. Kwoh's major research interests are in outcome assessment and the examination of risk factors for the development and progression of a broad spectrum of rheumatic and musculoskeletal diseases. His current work focuses on the identification of biomarkers – most notably MRI imaging biomarkers for the development and/or progression of knee osteoarthritis and the characterization of knee pain patterns in osteoarthritis. He also has a major interest in the reduction and ultimately the elimination of disparities in the management of arthritis and musculoskeletal diseases.  His clinical interests include knee, hip and hand osteoarthritis, rheumatoid arthritis, inflammatory back pain (spondyloarthritis) and lupus.