UArizona Department of Medicine Rheumatology Award Winners Announced

May 20, 2020
Drs. Jedlowski and Bohman Receive UArizona Rheumatology Awards

The Annual University of Arizona Department of Medicine Awards recognize exceptional medical students, residents, and faculty for their dedication, excellence, and commitment to medicine.  These prestigious awards acknowledge well-deserving individuals within the Department of Medicine and brings visibility to their distinguished work.  The 2020 Rheumatology Award winners are Mahdieh Jedlowski, PharmD, MD, and Bradley R. Bohman, MD.

2020 UArizona College of Medicine graduate Mahdieh Jedlowski, PharmD, MD, was named as the Outstanding Medical Student in Rheumatology.  Dr. Jedlowski earned her bachelor's degree with Magna Cum Laude honors in Molecular and Cellular Biology from the UArizona in 2011, her doctor of pharmacy degree from the UArizona in 2015, and her medical degree in 2020.  She will begin a residency in dermatology at the UArizona in July, 2020.

UArizona Arthritis Center Director and Rheumatology Chief C. Kent Kwoh, MD, states:

'Mahdieh Jedlowski showed up the first day to rheumatology clinic very excited to learn. She took a real interest in rheumatology, knowing that it would complement her future dermatology studies quite nicely. Every day you could see her eagerness to see and learn rheumatology grow. By the end of her rotation, she presented me with some complex clinic patients. Her presentations were certainly up to standards of a resident, if not, to that of a fellow! We were fortunate to have her for the time she was with us. It is my pleasure to award Mahdieh as this year’s Outstanding Student in Rheumatology.'


UArizona Internal Medicine Resident Bradley R. Bohman, MD, was named as the Outstanding Resident in Rheumatology. Dr. Bohman earned his bachelor's degree with Magna Cum Laude honors from Brigham Young University with a major in Biology and a minor in Management in 2014. He earned his medical degree at the University of Texas Medical Branch in 2018. While at the University of Texas Medical Branch, he completed the Public Health Track and on graduating from the University of Texas Medical Branch was designated as a Public Health Scholar.

UArizona Arthritis Center Director and Rheumatology Chief C. Kent Kwoh, MD, states:

'The Division of Rheumatology has the great pleasure of awarding Dr. Bradley Bohman as Rheumatology’s Outstanding Resident for the academic year 2019-2020. Dr. Bohman has demonstrated a keen interest in the field of Rheumatology.  He has completed two outpatient elective rotations and has contributed to scholarly research in our department. Dr. Bohman has stood out as a highly enthusiastic learner. He exhibits an extraordinary depth of compassion and empathy towards our patients with often disabling, chronic autoimmune diseases.  Dr. Bohman exceeded expectations regarding patient education. He would put in the extra time and effort to be sure the patient fully understood their condition, prognosis, and treatment options with risks and benefits. Dr. Bohman is a thoughtful, collegial, professional, and respected team player. Dr. Bohman has a bright future, and we wish him continued success with his upcoming academic endeavors.'